Happy Halloween, Y’all!

pumkinmermaid

It’s that time of the year to get your creativity flowing and to accomplish throwing together a clever costume in a pinch. Luckily, if you know your thrift store options you can find the essentials for any costume. Take a look at my shopping adventures and what I created for $31 or less.

The costume

Mermaids, bandanas and a baby… what do these have in common? Jessie James Decker– my favorite country star, football wife and southern belle. I couldn’t wait to show Jessie’s fans how to get the look.

Inspiration

I checked out Jessie’s style and interests to incorporate in my outfit by looking at her Instagram. Common things I found were her:

  • love of mermaids and Eric
  • baby Vivianne
  • plaid shirts, boots and bandanas

IMG_0090

I pulled from my closet first then headed to my favorite spots.

Marylyn’s Resale Therapy

Last year I was able to purchase a pair of cowboy boots for $12. They were in mint condition and a steal. These would work perfect and keep my feet warm. FullSizeRender

Plato’s Closet

“Plato’s” is reasonably priced, trendy and has hundreds of locations. I purchased a pair of Forever21 cut off shorts for $5, considerably less than the retail price of these Forever21 shorts.

FullSizeRender-2

Dollar Tree

So what if it’s not a thrift store! I was able to find a red bandana for $1. This shouts Jessie’s style and is her signature look. I also picked out pacifiers to wear.

FullSizeRender-3

My Closet

I wore a Forever21 plaid shirt I already had, but many thrift stores have a selection. Recently, I have seen quite a few at Goodwill and Plato’s Closet.

FullSizeRender-1

Target

I couldn’t find anything mermaid, so I used the rest of my budget on a $8.99 kids t-shirt. There were plenty of options, and hey, the XL fit!

FullSizeRender-4

I completed the look with a Teddy bear on my hip and a football in hand. Polish the look with curled hair and add your Eric Decker and you will be mistaken all night for the gorgeous couple!

IMG_0071

Stay tuned in for my upcoming posts, Know How To Thrift November and Door County Take Over. 

Leave a Reply

